Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training
Special Council Meeting
Department of Public Safety
3600 Martin Luther King Ave., Classroom A
Oklahoma City, OK. 73111
March 28, 2023
10:00 a.m.
MINUTES

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Chief Brandon Berryhill, Chairman, Broken Arrow PD
Sheriff Chris West, Vice-Chairman Canadian County SO
Director Donnie Anderson, O.B.N.D.D
Chief Don Cluck, Tuttle PD
Sgt, Elijah Hass, McAlester PD
Mr. Russ Higbie
Dr. Katherine Lang, ECU
Sheriff Shannon Smith, Seminole County SO
Chief Don Sweger, Guthrie PD
Commissioner Tim Tipton, DPS
Commissioner Randy Wesley, Chickasaw Nation

#### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Kate Springer, Asst. General Counsel Jason Potter, Compliance Manager Shelly Lowrance, Recording Secretary

### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Director Aungela Spurlock, OSBI Vacancy (OSPOA)

### **VISITORS PRESENT:**

Kevin Diehl, Sapulpa PD (retired) R. L. Ishmael, Creek Co. SO (retired) Executive Director Ray McNair, OSA

- 1. Chairman, Chief Berryhill called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.
- 2. Roll was taken and eleven members were present representing a quorum.
- 3. Open Meeting Act Compliance

This meeting is being held in compliance with the Oklahoma Open Meetings Act. Notice was given to the Secretary of State on February 23, 2023, and the agenda posted March 24, 2023.

- 4. Pledge of Allegiance was led by Sheriff West and introduction of guests by Chairman, Chief Berryhill.
- 5. Chairman, Chief Berryhill welcomed newly appointed Council member, Chief Don Cluck, Tuttle Police Department.
- 6. Chairman, Chief Berryhill acknowledged the resignation of Josh VanDeburgh. He was the representative of the OSPOA.

# 7. Discussion of Retired Peace Officer renewal process and related matters.

Discussion: Handout about the retired peace officer renewal process.

# No action required.

#### 8. Public Comments

Kevin Diehl and R. L. Ishmael:

- Retired peace officer renewal process.
- Communication and consistency.
- CLEET card is not mandatory.
- Meeting the LEOSA requirements.
- Constitutional carry.

Chairman, Chief Berryhill requested a detailed email to address the issues.

# No action required.

### 9. Proposed Executive Session – Interviews for CLEET Executive Director position.

Information: The Council is scheduled to interview Darry Stacy, David Houser, and Preston Draper.

**Action taken:** Sheriff West made a motion to enter into executive session. Dr. Lang seconded the motion. Chief Berryhill voted yes. Sheriff West voted yes. Director Anderson voted yes. Chief Cluck voted yes. Sgt. Hass voted yes. Mr. Russ Higbie voted yes. Dr. Lang voted yes. Sheriff Smith voted yes. Chief Sweger voted yes. Commissioner Tipton voted yes. Commissioner Wesley voted yes. Motion carried 11-0.

10:22 a.m. – Jason Potter, Shelly Lowrance, Kevin Diehl, Director Ray McNair, and R.L Ishmael left the meeting.

1:15 p.m. – Jason Potter, Shelly Lowrance, and Preston Draper returned to the meeting.

**Action taken:** Director Anderson made a motion to come out of executive session. Mr. Higbie seconded the motion. Chief Berryhill voted yes. Sheriff West voted yes. Director Anderson voted yes. Chief Cluck voted yes. Sgt. Hass voted yes. Mr. Russ Higbie voted yes. Dr. Lang voted yes. Sheriff Smith voted yes. Chief Sweger voted yes. Commissioner Tipton voted yes. Commissioner Wesley voted yes. Motion carried 11-0.

Action taken: Commissioner Tipton made a motion to make a conditional job offer to Mr. Darry Stacy for the Executive Director of CLEET, contingent on a background including polygraph.

Starting salary is \$120,000 plus benefits. Sheriff Smith seconded the motion. Chief Berryhill voted yes. Sheriff West voted yes. Director Anderson voted yes. Chief Cluck voted yes. Sgt. Hass voted yes. Mr. Russ Higbie voted yes. Dr. Lang voted yes. Sheriff Smith voted yes. Chief Sweger voted yes. Commissioner Tipton voted yes. Commissioner Wesley voted yes.

Motion carried 11-0.

# 10. Adjournment

**Action taken:** Director Anderson made a motion to adjourn. Chief Sweger seconded the motion. Chief Berryhill voted yes. Sheriff West voted yes. Director Anderson voted yes. Chief Cluck voted yes. Sgt. Hass voted yes. Mr. Russ Higbie voted yes. Dr. Lang voted yes. Sheriff Smith voted yes. Chief Sweger voted yes. Commissioner Tipton voted yes. Commissioner Wesley voted yes. Motion carried 11-0.

Chairman, Chief Berryhill adjourned the meeting at 1:18 p.m.